A History of the Green Bay Packers

May 19, 2022

The Green Bay Packers are one of the oldest football teams in the National Football League. They’ve got one of the most historic stadiums in all of football, and all that history lies in a small, midwestern town.

In 1919, Earl “Curly” Lambeau and George Whitney Calhoun founded the Packers. The Packers have won 13 league championships! Nine of those were prior to the Super Bowl era, and the following four were Super Bowls.

Between 1929 and 1931, Curly Lambeau coached the Packers to three consecutive championships while setting a still standing record of winning 30 consecutive home games. Between 1935 and 1945 was the Don Hutson era. Hutson was an iron man athlete, playing both sides of the ball, and excelling at both. He led the league in receptions for eight seasons, and also, in 1940, he led the league in interceptions. His number 14 was the first number to be retired by the Packers organization and he was inducted into the pro football Hall of Fame in 1963. As you can see, the Packers started off rolling opponents over. However, it wasn’t always the way ufabet ค่าน้ำ of the team, unfortunately! Between 1946 and 1958 there were dark days in Green Bay. Curly left in 1949, Lambeau Field was built in 1957, unfortunately, those are the only things of note to talk about in that time frame. Their record got continuously worse until, in 1958, under Ray “Scooter” McLean, the Packers dropped to an all-time low record of 1-10-1. Ouch.

That all changed on February 2, 1959, with the hiring of head coach and general manager Vince Lombardi. 1959 was their first winning season since 1947, eleven years of losing. Under Lombardi, the Packers shined, winning five world championships in seven years, including the first two Super Bowls. Lombardi acquired and coached some of the true greats of Packer history, including Bart Starr, Jim Taylor, Carroll Dale, Paul Hornung, Forrest Gregg, and Jerry Kramer. In 1961, the Packers won their first championship since 1944, and that was the year that Green Bay officially got the name “Titletown.” In 1962 and 1965, they also won the world championship. Then, in 1966, the Super Bowl era began, with the Green Bay Packers winning Super Bowl I over the Kansas City Chiefs, 35-10. In 1967, Lombardi’s final year as a Packer, was when the “Ice Bowl” took place. December 31, 1967, Lambeau Field, a rematch of the 1966 NFL title game, Green Bay Packers and Lombardi versus the Dallas Cowboys under Tom Landry. The game time temperature was about -15F degrees, with a windchill of about -48 degrees. The Packers won the game and went on to win Super Bowl II, this time against the Oakland Raiders, 33-14.