Copa America History and Facts

May 27, 2022

On the 1st of July, the Copa America 2011 will start. Copa America, or America Cup, was first staged in 1916 in Argentina. It is an international association football tournament that involves only South American national teams. It is similar to the EURO, and in its history of the past 96 years, spectators have been able to watch some of the best football matches that have ever been staged. The powerhouses of football are Argentina, Uruguay and Brazil and the other competing teams have always given sterling performances to capture the hearts of their fans.

The next Copa America tournament is just days away because it will start on July 1, 2011 and it will last for a month. It will be held in Argentina and 12 teams will participate. Argentina and Uruguay have been the most successful teams as they have won the title 14 times each. Brazil has won it 8 times and Paraguay and Peru winning it 2 times each. Columbia and Bolivia have one title each to their credit. This year’s tournament is expected to be very formidable because of the in-depth strength of the South American national teams. Among all sporting events of the world, Copa America is believed to be the most widely viewed.

The History of Copa America Tournament:

The first Copa America tournament in 1916 was held in Argentina between July 2 and July 17. Argentina, Brazil, Uruguay and Chile participated in it and Uruguay won the title after tying 0-0 with Argentina in the deciding final match. The success of this tournament acted as a catalyst for the Uruguayan สมัครเว็บ ufabetFootball Association to establish a confederation of the football associations of Argentina, Brazil, Chile and Uruguay and CONMEBOL was founded. In 1917, the tournament was held for a second time and Uruguay won it again by beating Argentina 1-0 in the finals. The next tournament was held in 1919 in Brazil and the host country won the title for the first time. In 1921, Paraguay participated for the first time.

Rules of Copa America:

There are two stages in the Copa America tournament 2011. In the group stages, three groups with four teams in each group are created by using the FIFA world rankings to distribute the teams in several pots. Teams are then drawn randomly from the pots and allocated to the three groups. Each team will play the other teams in its group and on the basis of points two top teams from each group will emerge and advance to the knockout stage.